Photo Series Day 3: Driving #InMyBurkini

14697221_10209560369700056_398173611_oPhoto credit: The Relaxed Photographer

The day I received my driver’s license was one of the most memorable days of my life. In fact, I was so excited to get it that I couldn’t decide where to go first. So, I decided to drive my mom to the closest Lebanese restaurant and I bought her a shawarma! Being able to drive has been such an empowering skill for me, because it has given me the freedom to go to events and meet with people, who have helped me grow immensely as an individual and a professional. The ability to drive is a privilege that not everyone or every woman has, which is why I am very grateful for it.

Be inspired: Check out the inspiring TED Talk that Dr. Sakena Yacoobi, founder and Executive Director of the Afghan Institute of Learning (AIL), did on how she is “driving change” (you see what I did there? Punny no?) and empowering women, and other disenfranchised communities, in Afghanistan by providing education and health services to thousands in rural and poor urban areas

One thought on “Photo Series Day 3: Driving #InMyBurkini

Leave a Reply

